Posted by: karascrumbs | April 12, 2012

Spaghetti Squash with Pesto

Last week in my skills cooking class at school my teacher made pesto.  So of course then I had a craving for pesto; pesto that I could eat.  So I bought the ingredients when I went to the store this week, but then I had to decide what to put it on.  I decided on spaghetti squash.  I had completely forgotten about spaghetti squash until I had lunch with a friend a week ago and she was eating it.  I thought pasta and pesto sounded like a great meal; and I added chicken for protein.

What a delicious meal this was!  It had been so long since I had either squash or pesto and they both tasted so darn good.  And the good news?  Since I am the only one who eats the food I make, I have leftovers!!  I can’t wait to have it again!

Spaghetti Squash
choose whichever size you want.
the brighter yellow color the better, it will have more flavor.

Pierce several holes in the squash with a fork or knife.
Microwave on high for 6-10 min.  About 2 min. per pound.
Bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour.  Larger squash may need a bit longer.
Slice squash.  Use fork to remove seeds and then twist out strands.

Pesto
you can prepare this while the squash is baking
2 cups basil
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. salt
2/3 cup olive oil

Place first three ingredients in a food processor.  Process for about 30 sec. and then slowly start to drizzle in the olive oil.   You may want more or less oil depending on how thick you want it.

Serve spaghetti squash in a bowl with pesto over top.  Chicken is optional, but a good addition.  Enjoy!!

             
             


Sorry, you can’t really see the spaghetti squash under there, but I promise it’s there.


Leave a comment

Categories