Posted by: karascrumbs | May 6, 2012

Overdue Update

Whew!  It’s been a long two weeks and I’m glad they’re finally over.  I had midterms this past week and spent a lot of time studying and preparing.  For the most part they went well.  However, I started out my skills midterm by burning my hand badly enough for it to blister on the first thing I made.  Ow!!  I still had four other things to make in about an hour and a half.  I pushed through the pain and managed to get an A, so I was pleased.  The only points I lost were for seasoning since I can’t taste anything we make.  But I’m still pleased with an A.  Not that I can relax now that midterms are over, but I can take a few more breaks.  I also scheduled classes for next quarter and will be taking Intro to baking, nutrition, and speech.  I’m really looking forward to baking and nutrition.  I’m sure speech will be a drag to get through; just like math is this quarter.

In other news, yesterday I went to a local grocery store and met celebrity chef Lorena Garcia.  She did a demonstration of two recipes and signed autographs.  It was a fun event and she was very entertaining and very nice.  I’m looking forward to going to see other chefs in the future.  I already have two more events on my calender, but I’ll wait and tell you about them after the events. 🙂

      

So now you’re probably wondering what I’ve been cooking up lately.  Well, with midterms, I honestly haven’t made much.  I made my mom a pie for her birthday, but I couldn’t eat it.  So mainly in the past two weeks, I’ve been making snacks to get me through classes and long study sessions.  So I thought I would share some of my favorite snacks with you.

Snack Attack Snack Suggestions

Homemade scones, bars, cookies, muffins
-I always keep a stash of items in my freezer for the times when I want something immediately or for on the go

Nut/seed butters
-I like to make my own walnut/pecan/almond/sesame/ and sunflower seed butters and put them on just about anything.   Some suggestions:  celery, cookies or muffins, chicken, stuffed dates, Larabars, and of course, straight out of the jar.  For convenience, though, I do also buy nut/seed butters.

Toasted nuts
-I like raw nuts, but toasted nuts are so much better.   I like to rinse mine before toasting.  It takes off the tannins (preservatives) and makes a crispier nut.  Sometimes I also spice my nuts for a sweeter snack.  Any spice could be used, but my favorite is cinnamon.  In the fall, though, pumpkin pie spice is a nice substitute.  My favorite nuts to snack on are walnuts, pecans, almonds, and brazil nuts.  Walnuts and pecans make the best spiced nuts.  I like my nuts best frozen.  So I after I prepare them, I put them in a bag and keep them in the freezer.
Toasted Nuts
-Place nuts in a large bowl and cover with water.  Soak for five minutes.  Drain and repeat two more times.
-Place nuts on a cookie sheet and toast in a 350 degree oven for 17-20min.  Depends on how toasted you like your nuts.  I like mine well done.

Spiced Nuts
1 cup nuts
2 tsp. oil
1 1/2 tsp. spice (pumpkin pie or cinnamon)
1/16 tsp. steviaPreheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix the oil, spice, and stevia in a bowl.  Stir in the nuts to fully coat.  Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet.
Toast for 15-17 min.

Toasted pecans, almonds, and walnuts.
 

Larabars
-my favorite flavors are gingersnap, blueberry muffin, coconut cream pie, and pecan pie

Homemade trail mix
-nuts, seeds, dried fruit (plum amazins, apricots, and goji berries are my favorites), and sometimes I add shredded coconut

Sometimes if I really need a pick me up or I don’t want anything sweet, I eat a piece of chicken or turkey.  It’s great cold and plain.

Raw Pumpkin Seeds


Responses

  1. Your fortitude I commend! You go girl! Always keeping you in prayer and sending a big hug ( )!

    Love you!


Leave a comment

Categories