Posted by: karascrumbs | March 28, 2013

Update, recipes, and more!

Hello fellow readers!

It has been so long since I did a blog post that I almost forgot how.  I have this week off from school so I wanted to take the time to give you an update and share some news with you.

School is going well.  I have enjoyed my baking/pastry classes, though I do put a lot of stress on myself.  However, I have successfully made deans list every quarter and have perfect attendance.  Next week I will be starting my last quarter!!!  Finally!! I am so excited!  I will be taking chocolates and Pastry Cafe.  Cafe will be fun because it is myself and four friends.  We get to design the menu, make the food, and run the cafe on Thursdays and Fridays from 9:30-12:30.  It will be a lot of work with so few people, but we will have a great time.  It will all be worth it.  I am looking for externships or a real job.  If anyone knows of anything, please let me know.

This past quarter I took a breads class and advanced pastry/cake decorating class.  I kind of enjoyed them.  I was really sick of making bread after 11 weeks.  I have also decided that I don’t like decorating cakes with gum paste and fondant.  I like baking them, but I would rather have someone else decorate them.  In breads class we talked a lot about different types of grains and gluten.  Since I eat grain free, I convinced my teacher to do a grain free bread.  Most of the class enjoyed it and they liked learning about gluten/grain free.  We made two versions: a plain one and one with nuts/seeds.  The recipes are at the end.  Some pictures of the cakes that I decorated are at the end too.  I also had to compete in a competition.  I made a pot of gold and rainbow for it.  It wasn’t very good and I clearly did not place.  Unfortunately I work so hard in school that I injured my wrist and am currently in PT trying to get it better.  Its really hard to knead bread, roll things out, and mix things with a bum wrist.  I worked at Giant Eagle for three months, but I recently quit to concentrate on my last quarter of school.  School and work was just too much to handle.

I’m sure you are probably also wondering about my health.  Well, in October I started working with a nutritionist and naturalpath.  I had allergy testing done and found out I was allergic to pretty much everything I was eating.  So I changed my diet to about four main foods.  I have been taking several different homeopathic supplements and my body is slowly healing.  Eventually the goal is for me to be able to eat more foods, but we don’t know how long it will take.  It is very frustrating not being able to eat what I want or enjoy food.  I love my doctors and am very thankful for their help.

This past weekend I went with my Mom to Market District to meet Bobby Deen.  He is a very friendly, personable, and nice man.  He demonstrated three recipes and then I got his autograph on my plate and a picture with him.  It was so much fun!!!  This coming week I am going to Market Square to meet Buddy the Cake Boss. I can’t wait.  I’m so excited for it!!  Since I’m in culinary school, I try to go to as many cooking demonstrations as I can.  They are fun, informative, interesting, and I get autographs and photos.  Such good memories.

Grain Free Bread
from Elana’s Pantry

2 1/2 cups Almond flour
1/2 tsp. Sea Salt
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
3  Eggs
1 Tb. honey/agave nectar
1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.
2. In large bowl combine flour, salt, and baking soda.
3. In a small bowl whisk together eggs, honey, and vinegar.
4.  Add wet to dry and stir well.
5.  Pour into greased 6.5×4 in. baby loaf pan.
6. Bake for 45-55 min.

DSCF4583

Grain Free Nut Bread
adapted from Elana’s Pantry

2 1/4 cups Almond flour
1/4 cup flax meal
1/2 tsp. Sea Salt
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
4  Eggs
1 tsp. honey/agave nectar
1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
1-1 1/2 cups chopped nuts/seeds of your choice

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.
2. In large bowl combine flour, salt, and baking soda.
3. In a small bowl whisk together eggs, honey, and vinegar.
4.  Add wet to dry and stir well.
5.  Pour into greased 6.5×4 in. baby loaf pan.
6. Bake for 45-55 min.
DSCF4584

DSCF4561       DSCF4590  DSCF4639        DSCF4711  DSCF4719a      DSCF4736      DSCF4744       DSCF4755

Well, I think that’s all the information I have to share with you for right now.  I hope you all have a wonderful Easter!!

 


Responses

  1. Glad to see your blog again Missed it & you!! Very informative! Can’t wait to try the bread recipes. Hope to see the blog soon. Please your Mom hello & I miss her very much. Take care. Marcie

  2. Hi Kara…sorry I’m so late getting back to you…Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful gift. The almond flour bread was very good toasted and spread with butter and cream cheese…jelly is also good since the bread had only the sweetness from the almonds. The pistachio bread was very good…I love pistachios. The nut gave it a great texture and crunch. Did not need anything added to it..but of course…butter or crean cheese didn’t hurt. Thank you again so much…I will be your guinea pig anytime. Glad you are back blogging and doing so well in school. I’m sure you’ll be Happy when it’s over. Your cakes look great….very fun and festive….I’m sure they taste great also. Please keep in touch. Hope you can join us for dinner soon. We have not made the plans for May…usually the 2nd Wed…5:30…Kathy will let your Mom know where. I hope she is feeling better.. the last time I saw her she was sick with a cold. Hope to see you soon. Light and Love Jo


Leave a comment

Categories