Posted by: karascrumbs | April 8, 2012

Strawberries!

It’s strawberry season!!  One of my favorite times of year.  I absolutely love strawberries.  And in honor of strawberry season, Thursday is National Strawberry Shortcake Day.

Just kidding.   Not that Strawberry Shortcake.  You know the kind I mean:  soft crumbly biscuit topped with ripe juicy strawberries, and if you can have it, a swirl of whipped cream topping.  I’ll be making myself some strawberry shortcake for dessert on Thursday and in case you want to make some for yourself, I thought I would share this recipe for biscuits.  They make a wonderful base for strawberry shortcake.

Coconut Flour Biscuits
3/4 cup coconut flour
2 tsp. vanilla powder/extract
3/4 tsp. baking soda
2 T. coconut oil (melted)
1 cup + 2 T. water
3 T. flax meal
1/16 tsp. vanilla stevia

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Mix flax meal with water and set aside to thicken.
Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Stir in the wet ingredients.
Make drop biscuits on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
Bake for 20-25 min.
Makes 6 scones
Allow to cool fully on sheet before moving.  They are very crumbly, but will firm up.

While these do make a wonderful strawberry shortcake, they are also deliciously enjoyed by themself.  I would store them in the refrigerator for best keeping, but I think they taste best at room temp or slightly warmed in the microwave.  They freeze well also.

So here’s to National Stawberry Shortcake Day!!!   I plated two versions.  I prefer option two (you get more strawberries 🙂 ).  This was such a nice cool crisp refreshing snack for a hot summer day.  I’m definitely looking forward to having another one on Thursday.

         

Enjoy!!

And by the way…..I do love the Strawberry Shortcake character; always have, always will.

Responses

  1. Do you remember SSCake’s cat’s name? I do :)…because daughter J. also loved SSC.

  2. I believe it was Custard.


Leave a Reply

Categories

