Posted by: karascrumbs | March 28, 2012

Vanilla Lavender Scones

Since I have the week off from classes, I am doing quite a bit of baking to stock my freezer for when I have classes and don’t have time to bake.  So the first thing I made this week was a new recipe for scones.  I thought lavender scones sounded really good and would be different from the other breakfast items I already had.  They seem light and spring-ish to me; perfect for the warmer spring season.

I did not create the recipe that I used, however, I did change a few things.  When I make them the next time, I think I’ll change a few more things.  First, here is the recipe as I made it.

Vanilla Lavender Scones
adapted from this recipe
1 1/2 cups almond flour
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
2 1/2 tsp. dried lavender
1 T. vanilla powder/extract
1 flax egg (or real egg)
2 T. coconut oil (melted)
1/2 cup water
1/16 tsp. stevia powder

Preheat oven to 380 degrees.  In a small bowl make flax egg and set aside to thicken.
In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients.
Add the coconut oil and water and mix well.  Lastly, add the flax egg and stir to combine.
Remove the dough from the bowl and form into a large disk about 1 in. thick. on a cookie tray lined with parchment paper.
Slice the disk into 8 scones.
*Alternately you can make drop scones.
Bake the scones for 20-25 min.
Let the scones fully cool on the tray before you move them.  They are fragile while they are hot.
Enjoy with lavender tea. 🙂

       

The changes I will make next time:
-make lavender tea and use that as the water for a stronger lavender flavor
-use less vanilla powder; only 1/2 T.
-use all almond flour.  the coconut flour was too overpowering and (although good) not what I wanted.
-make drop scones! (so much easier, and hold together better)

For some reason I was really craving a scone made in traditional scone shape: a large round disk cut into triangles.  After making these scones this way, next time I will make drop scones.  They fully satisfied my shape craving, but drop scones are easier and I think they hold together better.  Also, they are easier to individually wrap for transport.  And they’ll taste the same in either shape.  I really do enjoy the taste of these scones.  The lavender and coconut is a nice mix and vanilla makes everything better.  They are a perfect breakfast treat and now I want to go to class so I have an excuse to eat another one!

Now if I only I can remember to make lavender tea when I take one to class for breakfast.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

