Posted by: karascrumbs | March 2, 2012

I’m nuts for coconut!!

I love coconut.  I love shredded coconut in baked goods or trail mix, coconut oil on veggies and in baked goods, coconut butter by the spoonful or in baked goods or with nuts or other items, and I like to use coconut flour to bake with.  However, I have never had fresh coconut; until yesterday that is.

You see, I was grocery shopping last week and saw a young Thai coconut and decided to buy one.  I didn’t know how to open it or what to do with it, but I wanted to try it.  So with the help of my dad last night, we got the coconut open and the meat scraped out.  I haven’t decided what I want to do with the meat yet.  So far I have just been enjoying it plain.  I want to try toasting some in the oven, but I haven’t had the time.  I had class all day today and yesterday.  So maybe tomorrow, if I still have some meat left, I’ll try toasting some.  Today I added some of the meat to a dish of fresh berries and it was a yummy snack.  It is quite salty and I find that it tastes better with something else to cut the salt.  However, my dad preferred it plain.  I read that using it for a smoothie is good, but I’m not sure that I want to use it all to make a smoothie.

The worst part is getting the coconut open.  It is extremely difficult.  First there is a hard outer bark that needs to be shaved away to get down to the hard inner shell.  Then the top of the shell needs to be pried open.  Thankfully my dad is strong and was able to get the coconut open.  Inside was about a cup of water and a cup of meat.  I was a little surprised by how little meat there was.  While I’m glad I have had fresh coconut and experienced opening one, I think I will stick with the other forms of coconut.  They are easier to get and use and taste just as great, if not better.  Here are a few pictures of the process.

                 

A quick update: I received a call from my allergist today and got the results of all of my testing.  I found out that not only am I allergic to pineapple, but I am also allergic to summer squash.  I am quite disappointed to learn that I am allergic to summer squash.  It is one of my favorite vegetables and I just made meat loaf this week with it in it.  But really, summer squash?  It’s mostly water, I can’t believe I’m allergic to it.  I was not surprised that those were the only two foods to come back positive though.  The rest of my problems are just intolerances.  So I’ll slightly adjust my diet and see if anything changes.  This week I have not been feeling great and could really use some ‘good days’.  I just keep on hoping and praying.

Leave a Reply

Categories

