Posted by: karascrumbs | February 7, 2012

Cinnamon Rolls

Last week was such a hectic and stressful week for me and unfortunately I didn’t have time to do any baking.  I felt totally out of my norm.  So I apologize for not getting a post up last week.  However, I am getting back on track this week with a lot of baking.  First, I decided to make some cinnamon rolls.  These are one of my favorite treats.  They are perfect for a holiday or any day.  With a side of fruit, they would make a good breakfast, or they could be enjoyed as a snack.  Any time you eat them, though, I’m sure you will enjoy them.

I have to admit up front, though, that this is not an original recipe.  I had been looking for a cinnamon roll recipe a long time ago and happened upon this recipe from one of the blogs I like, Nourishing Flourishing.  I did, however, make a few changes to the recipe.  The way it is written below is with my changes.  Don’t be afraid of the dates.  I had never had dates before I made this recipe, but fell in love with them after eating my first cinnamon roll.  Since there is no butter or brown sugar, the dates help make the center ooey and gooey like real cinnamon rolls.  You can’t exactly taste or tell that you are eating dates, but they certainly are a great addition.  I have since added a drizzle of coconut oil to the inside to act like butter and help up the gooeyness.  These are definitely best eaten warm; either straight out of the oven, or reheated in the microwave.  The recipe only makes two rolls, however, it can easily be doubled to make more.  I have doubled the recipe and put three of them in the freezer to save for another time when I don’t have the time or want to make them.  They thaw quickly and still taste good.  I guess this recipe might be more exciting for me than it is for you because I had been longing for a cinnamon roll for a very long time.   They may not be Cinnabon, but they are a pretty tasty replacement and a cinch to make.

Cinnamon Rolls
1/2 cup almond flour
1/8 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/16 tsp. stevia powder
1 T. flax seed meal mixed with 4 T. warm water
3-4 dates, chopped, optional
coconut oil, optional

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the water and flax in a small bowl and set aside to thicken.  Chop dates and set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients.  Add the wet ingredients and mix well.  *Dough will be sticky.

Spread dough into a rectangle (you can make it as thick or thin as you wish)  (I roll it between two sheets of parchment paper)

Top with about 1/2 T. coconut oil, dates, and more cinnamon.  Roll into a log. (I use the parchment for help.  Otherwise, generously wet your hands before touching the sticky dough)

Leave log on parchment paper and bake for 20-24 min.

Dry ingredients and flax egg.

Dough rolled out.

Sprinkled with coconut oil, dates, and cinnamon.

(I only put dates on half of mine because I am sharing it with a friend and didn’t know what she would want; normally, though, I would put dates on the entire thing.)

Rolled into a log and ready to bake.

The finished rolls.

The rolls are very good on their own.  However, if you are looking for the uber sweet frosting of a Cinnabon, then try topping your rolls with coconut butter.  Enjoy!

As I stated above, I am doing a lot of baking this week.  Some for me and some for friends.  I have a great recipe for Valentine’s Day and I hope to post it soon.

Responses

  1. these sounds intensely yummy 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

