Posted by: karascrumbs | January 28, 2012

Chicken ‘n Biscuits

Chicken and Biscuits.

Biscuits and Gravy.

Shrimp and Grits.

Pecan Pie.

What do all of these foods have in common?  They are all classic southern dishes.  Isn’t there a saying that goes something like, “when in the south, do as the southerners do” ?  Well, even if there isn’t, it sounds good to me.  Since I’ve been living in the south, I decided I had to try and recreate one of these traditional dishes for myself.

I hate shrimp and can’t eat grits, so that meal was out of the question.  I can’t use maple syrup, honey, or corn syrup, so making pecan pie didn’t seem possible.  So I was left with chicken, biscuits, and gravy, and decided to combine the three into one meal.  Which was fine with me since I live on chicken.

The plain biscuits.

First I made some plain biscuits.  Then I reduced some chicken broth with some spices to create my gravy.  It was a little thicker than I would have liked, but it tasted very good.  I sliced a biscuit in half, added diced chicken, poured the gravy on top, and added a side of green beans (they too are a traditional southern food).

Chicken 'n Biscuits with gravy and a side of green beans.

And there you have it: my southern inspired Chicken ‘n Biscuits with gravy.  It was quite a delicious meal.

As for the remainder of the biscuits.  I ate the first one plain, warm out of the oven.  Then I used one as a base for a berry shortcake and I toasted the last one and spread it with pear butter.  All four ways were quite delicious.  This is a very versatile biscuit.  It can be used for sweet or savory dishes because it is not very sweet.  So go ahead and enjoy any way you please.

Biscuits
This recipe is from the Gluten Free Almond Flour Cookbook by Elana Amsterdam.  The way you see it below is with the four changes that I made.

1 1/4 cups blanched almond flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 cup olive oil
1 egg white

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  Stir in the wet ingredients.  Drop batter by 1/4 cups onto the baking sheet.

Bake for 15-20 minutes.  They will be cooked, but barely golden brown.
Makes 4 biscuits.

Leave a Reply

Categories

