Posted by: karascrumbs | January 5, 2012

Holiday Baking

Happy New Year!  I hope you all had a wonderful holiday.  I hope 2012 will be a great year for everyone.  I’m excited to share my first post of the new year with you.

I know most people associate pumpkin with Thanksgiving, but I didn’t have time this past Thanksgiving to make myself a pumpkin pie.  Since I love pumpkin so much and eat it all year, I decided I would make myself a pie for Christmas.  Plus, so many people I know serve pumpkin pie for both holidays.  I was really craving a pumpkin pie and made time to make a pie for myself.

Originally I wasn’t really sure how a pie was going to be without milk, cream, or egg yolks.  So that’s the main reason I put off making a pie for myself.  However, once I found a recipe for a pie that didn’t have milk and would only require two slight alterations, I just had to make it.  I got a cookbook called ‘The Gluten Free Almond Flour Cookbook’ and it happens to be by the author of one of my favorite blogs.  The recipe I used for the pie came from this cookbook.  I thought the pie (and crust) was delicious.  It fully satisfied my craving for pumpkin pie.  However, since I was the only person eating it, I was a bit sick of pumpkin pie after the eighth slice.  The pie was very good served cold, but was even better with a little drizzle of coconut butter.  I am one who grew up eating pumpkin pie with whipped creme.  I never ate pumpkin pie without whipped creme.  The coconut butter was my whipped creme and tasted even better than whipped creme on normal pie.

Pumpkin Pie
from the Gluten Free Almond Flour Cookbook by Elana Amsterdam of Elana’s Pantry

Almond Flour Pie Crust
makes one 9 1/2 in. crust
1 1/2 cups blanched almond flour (must be blanched)
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tsp. vanilla extract (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Combine all ingredients and press into pie pan.
Bake for 10-15 min., until golden brown.

Pie Filling
4 cups pumpkin puree
1 Tbsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. ginger
Pinch of cloves
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs (can use just the whites if you want)
1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. stevia

Stir together all ingredients in a large bowl.  Pour into prebaked pie crust.
Bake for 50-60 min., until the filling is firm.  Let the pie cool for about 30 min. before serving.

 

On another baking note, I took some time with my mom to bake a very elaborate dessert.  This wasn’t something I could eat, so I can’t tell you how it tasted.  But I can tell you that the guests devoured it.  So not only does it look amazing, but evidently it tasted amazing too.  This dessert is a 14 inch eclair.  Yeah, that’s right, 14 inches!  I know, it’s big.  Fourteen inches of yummy crispy pastry, creamy pudding filling, and the most important part, sweet chocolate topping.  Pure decadence!  It was surprisingly easy to make (a little bit harder to bake) and made the perfect dessert for the New Year’s party we were going to.  The pictures were too good for me not to share with you.

      

Responses

  1. Happy New Year Kara ~ The 14inch Eclair was a huge hit, and although I shouldn’t have been eating it either… it was YUMMY!!!!

    • I agree with you– pumpkin is for every day! Love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

