Posted by: karascrumbs | January 4, 2012

Homemade Butters

I think I have a problem.  There’s a blog I like called All Day I Dream About Food.  Well, that would pretty much sum up my life, except I must add one thing.  My dreaming doesn’t end with the day……it goes well into the night.  In fact, all night long I dream about food.  Unfortunately, while I’m lying in bed trying to fall asleep is when I seem to do my best thinking.  I’m always thinking up new recipes or things to make or coming up with other great ideas.  So now I have to keep a journal by my bed to write my ideas down so I can sleep.  Well, guess what happened the other night?  Lying in bed I got to thinking about pumpkin seed butter.  A while back I bought a jar of pumpkin seed butter and it was just about the worst thing I ever tasted in my life.  I couldn’t even eat the whole jar.  So I was surprised when I wanted to make some of my own.  However, mine would be different in two ways: my seeds were going to be toasted (they taste better) and I was going to add some spice to it.  The reason I chose to use pumpkin seeds is because I already eat a lot of almonds (almond butter, flour, and raw nuts), so I didn’t want to eat more almonds, and I can buy and/or make sunflower seed butter and eat sunflower seeds.  But I basically consume the least amount of pumpkin seeds at this point.  I think a good diet needs variety, so I chose pumpkin seeds.

So I took some pumpkin seeds, toasted them, threw them in the food processor, and waited for butter to form.  I tasted it before I added the spices, and surprisingly it was very delicious, I could have stopped there, but I had my mind set on a cinnamon butter, so I added cinnamon and stevia and processed it some more.  The final product was so good, even better than the plain.  I couldn’t stop licking the spoon.  Only half of what I made actually made it into a container and into the fridge!  Since I didn’t want to eat it just off the spoon (although it’s so good I could, well, did), I made an english muffin and topped half of it with some cinnamon pumpkin seed butter, toasted it for a few seconds, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I originally thought making my own butter was going to take a lot of time and work and not be worth the effort; however, I was wrong!  Making this butter was so easy and quick.   It seriously took less than five minutes!  And now I have a super delicious spread that would be good with anything.  If I could eat them, I would certainly eat this butter with apples.  Apples and PB=a match made in heaven; and this would just be a slight, but delicious, variation, because, after all, cinnamon apples are also a delicious combination.  I think it would also go nicely with some crackers, either cinnamon or plain.  So go ahead, whip up a batch, and indulge any way you please. 🙂

Cinnamon Pumpkin Seed Butter
1 cup toasted seeds (salted)
2 tsp. oil (I used pumpkin seed oil (only seem fit))
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/16 tsp. vanilla stevia

First, toast the seeds: Preheat oven to 350.  Spread seeds on a baking sheet and toast for 10-12 min., until they are golden brown and begin to pop.

After seeds have cooled, put them in a food processor and blend for a few minutes, scraping down the bowl as needed.
After a minute or two, add the oil while the processor is running.
Once a paste begins to form, add the cinnamon and stevia.  Process until a ball of paste forms.  This is not a runny butter, it is thick.  If you want it more liquidy, add more oil.
Store butter in the refrigerator (if you don’t eat it all!).
Makes about 1/2 cup of butter (hard to really know because I kept tasting it.)

The finished butter.

So then I got to thinking about other butters that I could make and I had my mind set on coconut butter.  I put two bags of coconut into the processor and let her rip.  It took a bit longer than the pumpkin seed butter, but it still wasn’t too long.  I don’t enjoy the homemade coconut butter as much as store bought because it doesn’t get as creamy.  I had two recipes in mind that I wanted to make with coconut butter, so I decided to use the not-as-great-homemade in the recipes and you would never know the difference.

Coconut Butter
2 bags finely shredded coconut
1/2 tsp. coconut oil

Process the coconut for about five minutes, stopping every minute or so to scrape down the sides.  Then, with processor running, slowly add coconut oil and continue to process until a butter forms.  Stop and scrape the sides as needed.

It’s not a very good ‘after’ picture because I processed it some more to get it more creamy, but then forgot to take another picture.  You get the idea though.

And lastly, I made a batch of pecan butter.  I had a bag of pecans sitting around and wasn’t going to eat them and thought maybe I would try pecan butter.  I have never had pecan butter before so I thought it would be cool to try it.  First I processed it into a smooth butter and tasted it.  It was yummy, but I added some salt, mixed it, and tasted it again.  Now it was really yummy.  Definitely something I want to make again.  It will be a nice change from almond butter.  The pecan butter and coconut butter pair very nicely together.  I enjoyed eating a spoonful of each together.

Pecan Butter
pecans
salt

Process the pecans to the consistency that you like.  Add the salt and process a few seconds to mix it in.  Enjoy!  Store in refrigerator.
The amount of pecans and salt you use can vary depending on how much you want to make and how salty you like it.  I used about two cups of pecans and 1/2 tsp. salt and it made about 3/4 cup of butter.

Pecan butter

So as you can see, it’s not very difficult to make your own nut/seed butters.  All you need is a food processor and a little patience.

I wonder what tasty ideas I’ll dream up next?

Responses

  1. I continue to admire your strong and persistent spirit. I’m cooking “no salt” for two weeks to prepare hubby for a thyroid scan and it is a challenge as almost every processed food has salt added. Your butters give me inspiration to blend one for all the home-made bread I’ve been baking. You keep on your journey Kara…I like peeking in to see your milestones! Also, if you tried to contact me at Christmas, I apologize that we weren’t able to visit with each other!


Leave a Reply

Categories

