Posted by: karascrumbs | December 29, 2011

Reminiscent thoughts

I thought I would jump on the bandwagon with the other bloggers and do a post looking back on 2011 and ahead on 2012.

I never thought I would say it, but I am actually a little disappointed to see 2011 come to an end.  It was a pretty good year for me.  Exactly a year ago I was not in a great place, but as the year progressed, things got better, and I would say I am ending the year on a high note.
       I used trial and error and was able to adjust my diet to help me feel better.  I still have a ways to go, but I feel like I am headed on the right path.  I started my blog!  I have enjoyed baking and creating recipes and sharing them with the world.  I look forward to more baking (which will be more fun now that I have a super decorating kit that I got for Christmas!) and more blogs.  And most recently, I applied to a culinary school: baking and pastry program.

I recently heard a great quote about making new year’s resolutions: “they are like babies: fun to make, but extremely difficult to maintain.” I  used to be one who never made resolutions; after all, an estimated 78% of people who make resolutions fail.   However, as I look forward to 2012, I do have a few things I want to keep in mind so hopefully things will only get better for me.
     1) courage-change-commitment (myoneword—ok, so I have three)
     2) go back to school-culinary school
     3) continue creating new recipes and blogging
     4) get healthy

Above I listed three ‘c’ words.  Two years ago I heard about this thing called ‘my one word.’  It talks about not making so many new year’s resolutions and instead picking one word to focus on during the year.  The word is supposed to be something that will help you be a better person and be the type of person God wants you to be.  My first word was perseverance.  I still hang on to that word, and always will.  I thought for 2012, though, I wanted to come up with another word.  My first thought was ‘commitment.’  Many times I have trouble committing to something.  Then while reading about other people’s words, I saw ‘courage’ and ‘change’ and I thought the three words went well together.  We must have courage to change our lives and change takes commitment.  So I”m thinking I will use all three; and thus, they are my ‘c’ words.  Many changes are happening or need to happen in my life and I need courage to commit to making those changes.

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year.  Thank you all for your support and enthusiasm for my blog.  I hope I will continue to excite you.  I have a whole slew of recipes waiting to be made.  I can’t wait to share my baking experiences with you in the new year!

Responses

  1. Your “one word” is fantastic and very inspiring! I know this is one resolution you will definitely keep! Love you! You can do it this year.

  2. Kara: I’ll pray your “c” words over you all year. I too select a “one word” and for 2012, it’s gratitude. Can’t wait to see how this word works through the year, but I’ll savor every experience day by day. You already exhibit SUCH courage to me…and Please let me know about the status of your culinary school application!

    • I like your word also, but you too already exhibit such gratitude. I’ll let you know once I schedule classes…..should be this week or next.

      ________________________________


Leave a Reply

Categories

