Posted by: karascrumbs | December 22, 2011

Raw Zucchini Flatbread

Eating completely ‘raw’ is not the most important thing to me.  However, there are some yummy raw foods out there and it is healthy.  The first raw food product I tried was a raw flatbread that I bought at a local food co-op.  It was delicious, but when I went back to buy more, they were out and this isn’t a store I go to frequently.  I was highly disappointed.  Then, about a month ago I was at a different store and found a similar raw flatbread and bought some of it.  It too was delicious, but again, this is not a store that I frequent, so I knew I was getting more.  So I studied the (short) ingredient list and thought to myself, “I have a dehydrator, I can get all of these ingredients, so how about I try making some of my own flatbread.  The only thing I have to lose is a little bit of time.”  So I went to the store, bought the ingredients, and started experimenting.   The first time I made this, I didn’t write down my recipe, I made a very small batch, and it was so good it was gone in two days.  So then I had the challenge of remembering how much I added and recreating a larger batch.  Luckily I judged pretty well and tasted as I went and was able to make another successful batch of flatbread.  The most exciting part is that I don’t have to make a special trip to a special store to buy more flatbread or spend a lot of money on it.  Raw products are much more expensive, but not so when you make them yourself with regular ingredients!!  I am very proud of my homemade flatbread.  It’s my favorite recipe invention so far, and I look forward to experimenting with the it more.

The is a tasty, savory, soft flat bread that is completely raw and healthy.  I eat it as a sandwhich bread, with salads or eggs, or just as a healthy snack.

Raw Zucchini Flatbread
1 1/4 cups very finely shredded zucchini
1 cup sunflower seeds, finely ground
3/4 cup flax meal
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. oregano
1 1/2 tsp. sea salt

First, shred the zucchini.  I ran it through the food processor’s shredder twice.  Empty into a bowl and set aside.
Grind the sunflower seeds. Should be close to a powder, but a few small chunks is fine.
Stir the zucchini, seeds, flax meal, and spices together in a large bowl.
Spread out on a sheet of parchment paper to about 1/4 of an inch.
Cut into desired size slices, remove from paper, and place on dehydrator trays.  Dehydrate for about 5-7 hours.  It should be dry and firm, but pliable.  (If you overdehydrate it they will just be crackers, but still yummy)  I would check on it every hour just to be safe.
Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator or freeze.
Makes about 16 slices.

In the dehydrator.

The finished flatbread.

 

I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!  I’ll be back after the holidays.

Leave a Reply

Categories

