Posted by: karascrumbs | December 17, 2011

My dinner and two recipes

When I first started my blog, I promised myself that I wasn’t going to post what I ate everyday.  I find it kind of strange and a bit excessive.  Also, there really is nothing too special or unique about chicken and vegetables; and that is what I eat almost every day.  However, every once in a while I have something a bit more unique.  Like last night for instance.  About once a week I have a turkey burger.  Usually I just cut it up and add a side of vegetables.  But last night I was kind of in the mood for a sandwhich.  Well, when I first started with all of my dietary limitations, I thought I would never have another sandwhich.  I don’t like to make bread and there is nothing that I can buy.  However, I soon found a recipe for a microwave english muffin.  I was thrilled!  It has a little bit more bulk than a traditional one, but it still has some nooks and crannies.  And it tastes delicious with any topping you could imagine.  So sometimes I make one to make a sandwhich.  So that was part one of my delicious dinner: a turkey burger on an english muffin bun.

Part two happened to be the vegetable side dish.  I really don’t understand what people don’t like about brussels sprouts.  All they are are mini cabbages and what’s not to like about lettuce?  Until last night, my favorite way to prepare brussels sprouts was to saute them on the stove.  However, last night I roasted them in the oven.  They got a wonderful crunchy outside, but were soft and tender on the inside.  I tossed them with olive oil, salt, and garlic powder and then put them in the oven.  This is now my new favorite way to eat them.

My entire dinner was delicious!  It was a nice change to my everyday chicken.

Turkey burger with roasted brussels sprouts.

Now a few words about the english muffin.  This really has become a staple in my diet.  You can put whatever you want on it.  I spread it with almond butter, coconut butter, sunflower seed butter, or pumpkin seed dip; I add melted coconut oil and cinnamon; I use it to make a sandwhich with chicken, turkey, or almond butter; and I’ve also made garlic bread with it.  I’ve even used the muffin as a base for berries to make something like a shortcake.  The possibilities are endless.  Thankfully it only takes two minutes to make the whole thing.

I usually make mine with just almond flour (I think it tastes the best); however, you can also use coconut flour, or a mix of the two.  The one used for my sandwhich was made with coconut flour.  Using just almond flour makes it flatter and denser.  Using coconut flour makes it a bit larger, rise up more, and have a lighter texture.  One will keep for about a week in a ziplock bag or airtight container.  It tastes best toasted, but is equally yummy untoasted and works better for sandwhiches if it is not toasted.

Microwave English Muffin
2 1/2 T. almond flour (or flour of choice)*
1/2 T. olive oil
1 egg white
1/4 tsp. baking soda and 1/8 tsp. vitamin C crystals (or 1/4 tsp. baking powder)

Mix all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl or dish.
Microwave for 1 min. and 30 sec., or until done.
Let cool before slicing and enjoying.
*Coconut flour with require the addition of about 2 T. water

Made with almond flour.

Made with coconut flour.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts
brussel sprouts
olive oil
salt
garlic powder

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
Toss brussels sprouts with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and garlic.
Roast for 20-30 min.; until the outside is crispy.

Responses

  1. Gee…your sandwich looks like a smiley Pacman chomper!


Leave a Reply

Categories

