Posted by: karascrumbs | December 13, 2011

Raw Cookie Balls

I had a great time last week visiting my grandparents and aunt.  I went specifically to help my aunt do her holiday baking.  Every year she spends multiple days baking holiday cookies for her friends, family, and co-workers.  So with nothing tying me down, I volunteered to come and help her.  We spent Saturday, Sunday, and half of Monday and Tuesday baking.  We also spent numerous hours decorating the spritz and sugar cookies.

First we baked the spritz so that they could cool before we decorated them.  I spent a long time standing there pressing out Christmas trees and wreaths.  Then I spent four hours hand painting the cookies.  Luckily my Grandma helped me or else I would have spent another four hours doing her half.  Another day I spent two hours decorating the sugar cookies to be like Christmas bulb ornaments.  I had fun making them all look a bit different.

Painting the spritz with my grandma.

Sugar cookie bulbs.

Sugar cookie bulbs.

I spent the next few days just hanging out at their house and taking a break from the kitchen.  Thanks for having me for the week G & G; I had a good time.

If I didn’t do enough baking last week, I decided I needed to do some baking of my own.  After all, I couldn’t eat anything that we made.  So I decided to make a new recipe for myself.  Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of press about cookie and cake balls.  While I’m not a huge fan of cake, I do love cookies.  So I thought I would try my hand at making my own cookie balls.  Since it’s still winter and holiday time, spices are still calling me.  So I mixed some flour with some spices and stevia, added a little water, and made my balls.  A lot of the fancy cookie and cake balls are dipped in chocolate.  While I can’t have chocolate, coconut butter hardens just like chocolate.  So I decided to roll a few in coconut butter.  Then I thought a coating of crushed nuts might be nice.  And you can’t go wrong with almond butter, so that got used also.  In the end, I can say I am very happy with my cookie balls.  I made a small batch(just like everything else I make) since I was experimenting and I have already ate two, that was half of my batch!  Guess I’ll have to make more.  Luckily I have lots of time and can make more so I have my own cookie balls for Christmas.  I think I’ll make a very large batch since they freeze well.  They are so easy to pop into your mouth that you can’t eat just one.  And with all the different topping choices, you have to experiment and try different things.  So yep, a large batch is in order.  And it’s great, they are super simple and fast to make because you don’t bake them; just roll and refrigerate (or freeze).

Raw Cookie Balls
1 cup almond flour
3 T. flax meal, optional (I added it to make them a tad healthier)
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp. ginger
1 tsp. nutmeg
1/8 tsp. stevia
2-3 T. water (just enough to make a dough)

Mix all of the ingredients together.  Roll dough into balls.  A tablespoon works well to get them all the same size.
If you choose to roll balls in coconut butter, refrigerate the balls first until they are hardened.  Cover with coconut butter and immediately refrigerate to harden.  After they harden you can coat again; two coats is best.
Otherwise, roll balls in crushed nuts, shredded coconut, chopped dates, or whatever you like.  Cocoa powder would work too if you can eat it.
Refrigerate or freeze balls.  I like mine best frozen.
Makes 16 balls.

My variety of cookie balls.

Experiment with differnet things.  If you do something different, leave a comment about what you did.
There’s only 12 days left until Christmas.  Have you done your shopping and baking?

Responses

  1. Golly those Christmas creations look GREAT Kara! Keep on keeping on friend!

  2. Your blog is great Kara! I really like the “ingredients” page – so much useful information in one place. I haven’t looked at all the recipes yet but I had to check out these raw cookies (why do people bake cookies anyway?).


Leave a Reply

Categories

