Posted by: karascrumbs | December 7, 2011

Pumpkin Seed Dip

Are you pumpkin-ed out yet?  I hope not.  I love pumpkin and eat it all year long.  That’s as long as there is not another pumpkin shortage and I can’t find it.  But anyways, in addition to regular pumpkin, I also love to eat pumpkin seeds-preferably the kernals, known as pepitas.

I recently saw a recipe for a pumpkin seed dip and thought I would give it a try.  I had to tweak a few of the ingredients to better suite my tastes and dietary needs, but boy is it delicious.  I couldn’t stop licking the spoon while I was trying to stir it and then put it in a container to save.  Thankfully the recipe made quite a bit because I’ll be eating a lot of it over the next few days.  I even froze half of it so I wouldn’t eat it all at once and I will have more when I want it.  I like it best as a warm sauce over chicken and broccoli or spaghetti squash.   It reminds me of a thai peanut sauce; one of my favorite things before I had to severly limit my diet.   If you don’t eat pumpkin seeds, or can’t find them, you could easily sub sunflower seeds and get a very similar taste.

Pumpkin Seed Dip/Sauce

1 cup pumpkin seeds (pepitas), toasted
2 T. olive oil
1/2 cup chicken broth or water
1/2 tsp. granulated garlic (or 1 large clove, finely chopped)
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. peper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees to toast pumpkin seeds.  Spread seeds on a cookie sheet and toast for about 10min, until they pop.  Allow them to cool before continuing.

Place cooled seeds and all other ingredients into a food processor.  Blend until a thick puree is formed.  Taste for seasoning.  Store in refrigerator.

Untoasted seeds.

Toasted seeds.

The sauce starting to form.

The finished sauce.

This dip is also good served cold with raw vegetables.  Maybe you could serve this unique dip with the vegetable tray at your next holiday party.  I can gaurantee it’s healthier and tastier than ranch or another creamy packaged dip.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

