Posted by: karascrumbs | November 23, 2011

A little something to spice up your holidays

Sadly, I am home from my travels.  I had a such a wonderful weekend visiting my family in Massachusetts, but it was too short of a visit.

Besides pumpkin, I don’t think fall or the holidays would be the same without spices.  Whether it be spice cake or spice cookies, something about them just screams fall to me.  Every year I get a craving for spices; you know, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice, all wrapped up into one delicious baked good.  My treat of choice would be my Nana’s gingersnaps.  They are heavenly!  Sadly, I can’t eat them anymore, and the recipe has too many ingredients for me to change.  I’ve had a craving for spice cookies all fall, but it was intensified when I walked into my Nana’s house this weekend and on the counter sat a fresh batch of gingersnaps.  The kitchen smelled delicious and I wanted to eat a cookie so badly.  So when I got home, I had to bake some cookies of my own.   Though they don’t do justice to my Nana’s cookies, they are a reasonable substitute and will satisfy me for the time being.  It took a few tries of adjusting the spices and liquids, and I’m still not sure if it is quite right.  But like I said, they will suffice for the time being.

Spice Cookies

1 1/2 cup almond flour
1 1/2 tsp. allspice
3 tsp. ginger
2 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/8 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. stevia powder
1 egg white
3 T. olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Mix  all ingredients together.  Drop spoonfulls of dough onto prepared sheet and slightly flatten.
Bake for 8-10 min.
Makes about 16 cookies.

The dough all mixed together.

Ready to be baked.

The finished cookies.

These are delicious and are the perfect holiday alternative to pumpkin pie.  Since I can’t have pumpkin pie, I’ll be enjoying these cookies tomorrow for dessert while the rest of my family has pie.  However, if I don’t freeze some of them, they would all be gone in one day.  So I have to ration them.  They are very good warmed up in the microwave.  Adding a little smear of coconut butter makes it seem more like a dessert.  I think my next experiment is going to be crafting this recipe into a muffin.  It would make a lovely breakfast treat.

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving and a yummy meal!

Responses

  1. You inspire me young friend! Keep on keeping on Kara!


Leave a Reply

Categories

