Posted by: karascrumbs | November 13, 2011

Crackers

Here is a quick and easy snack.  There are so many variations that you could make.  Just experiment with whatever you like; baking should be fun!  The recipe is pretty basic and can easily be doubled or tripled to make a larger batch.  I keep my batches small so I eat them all before they start to go stale.  These crackers will keep for about a week or so in an airtight container.

I personally love cinnamon and think that it goes with everything; so my first recipe uses cinnamon and stevia to make a sweet cracker.  I enjoy these with coconut butter, pumpkin butter, pumpkin almond butter, fruit, or just by themselves.

Cinnamon Crackers

1/4 cup almond meal or flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. stevia powder
1 T. cold water

See below for instructions.

Second, I love garlic and use it to spice up my chicken, but I also add it to herb crackers.  I enjoy these any time of day, breakfast, lunch, or dinner; with my eggs, soup, salad, or chicken.  They are also good with a little avocado.  A basket of these would go nicely on a Thanksgiving table.

Garlic and Herb crackers

1/4 cup almond meal or flour
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. oregano (or whatever herbs you like)
1/4 tsp. salt
1 T. cold water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Mix all ingredients together.
Roll dough between two sheets of parchment paper, no thicker than 1/8 inch.
Score dough with a knife or pizza cutter.
Transfer parchment paper with dough onto a baking sheet.
Bake for 10-12 min.  They will get more crispy as they cool, so don’t overbake.
Makes about 8-10 crackers, depending on thickness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

