Posted by: karascrumbs | November 9, 2011

Lavender Cookies

I recently received my order of almond flour, so I was finally able to bake a batch of cookies.

When I was a child, my mother always grew lavender in the yard.  We used it for many various things: such as potpourri and cookies.  I never knew you could eat lavender until my mom decided to bake with it one day.  I thought lavender cookies sounded weird. After eating my first cookie, though, I was hooked.  Since then I have been craving those surprisingly yummy cookies.  She stopped growing lavender at one point, so it has been a very long time since I have had those cookies.  This spring I got a craving for those cookies, but was disappointed because I didn’t think I would ever be able to have them again given my diet limitations.

Well, this past weekend while my family was out, we happened upon a natural market that had dried lavender.  So I bought a bag, destined to find a recipe that I could use; or I was just going to wing it.  Luckily, when I did a google search, I surprisingly found a few different recipes that I could work with.  So today I made a small batch of lavender cookies.  They hit the spot!  They are delicious and fully satisfied my longing for a lavender cookie.

Lavender Cookies
adapted from Elana’s Pantry recipe

1 1/4 cup blanched almond flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
3 tsp. dried lavender
1/4 cup olive oil
3 T. water*
1/16 tsp. stevia powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Add the wet ingredients and stir well.
Drop dough onto prepared cookie sheet.
Bake for 7-10min.   Makes about a dozen cookies.

*I added water since I substituted stevia for the agave.

Dry ingredients.

All ingredients stirred together.

Ready to go into the oven.

The finished product.

Responses

  1. Interesting recipe! Love that it’s DF as well as GF! Great presentation of the finished product, too 🙂

  2. I guess I had better plan on growing some lavender next year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

