Posted by: karascrumbs | November 2, 2011

Super seeds!

I don’t have a recipe to share with you today, but rather a quite unique product.

I think having variety in your diet is important.  So I’m always looking for more things to add to mine.

A couple weeks ago while searching the web I read about these things called sacha inchi seeds.  Sound weird right?  Well, I researched them and learned some interesting facts.  They are also known as the Inca peanut and they come from the sacha inchi plant which is native to the Amazon rainforest.  They are considered a superfood for a couple reasons.  1)  They are the richest source of heart healthy Omega 3’s on the planet.  They have more Omega 3 than either fish or flax seeds.  2)  They are a complete protein source and have 8 grams of plant based protein.  3)  They are rich in antioxidants, amino acids, and fiber.  They are organic, gluten free, and touted as being easily digestible.  So they sound super right?  I thought to myself that since I usually tolerate plant based foods I had to give them a try.

I was buying a few things from Amazon.com and so I looked to see if they had any.  I found that the seeds are sold under the name SaviSeeds.  So I ordered a bag.  They come in three flavors: cocoa, karmalized, and natural, which has sea salt.  I ordered the natural and just received them today.  I was so anxious to try them.

Super seeds!

They look like nuts and taste like nuts, but they aren’t nuts………they’re seeds.  They almost remind me of almonds and are quite delicious.  I think they would taste even better toasted like you toast nuts.  I may have to try a few.  The only con, they are expensive and can only be found online right now.  I think, unfortunately, these will have to be a special treat and not an every day snack.  I’m certainly glad I bought some.  You can read more about them here.

The actual seeds.

Responses

  1. These sound delicious! I bet the chocolate would be really good. It’s a shame they’re so expensive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

