Posted by: karascrumbs | October 31, 2011

Pecan Sandies

Happy Halloween!!

On a day that is all about eating sweets, I decided I should have something too.  So that involved baking up a new recipe because  I didn’t want something I’ve had before.  One of my favorite cookbooks is the Gluten Free Almond Flour cookbook by Elana Amsterdam (of Elana’s Pantry).  I’ve only made a few of the recipes so far, but everything has been delicious.  One of the recipes that I have wanted to try for a while now is the Pecan Shortbread Cookies (also know as sandies).  It’s funny, I used to hate nuts.  I would pick them out of everything and totally avoid them.  I only ate peanut butter (which now I can’t).  As a kid I even gave away all of my Halloween candy that had nuts.  However, in the last year they have become a dietary staple for me.  When my diet first got so limited, they were one of the few things I could eat and now I love them.  I like to eat them raw, however, I found they taste SO much better if you toast them in the oven for a while first.  I also am not afraid to put nuts into anything I make.  So when I saw this recipe had toasted pecans, I was very excited to try it.

I made a few changes to the recipe for a sake of ease and to suit my diet.  My first suggestion is that you use blanched almond flour and not almond meal.  You will achieve a much better cookie.  However, you can use almond meal and make a few other changes. See below for directions*.  Also, the originial recipe said to roll the dough into a log, freeze it until firm, and then remove to slice and bake.  I didn’t feel like waiting for the dough to firm up or having to slice it.  So I made simple drop cookies instead.  They took a bit longer to bake because they were thicker, but otherwise I think it worked just fine.  Here is the recipe exactly as I made it.

Pecan Shortbread Cookies   (makes about 24- 2 1/2in. cookies)

2 1/2 cups blanched almond flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 cup toasted, coursely chopped pecans^

1/2 cup olive oil

1/8 tsp. vanilla stevia

1/8 tsp. stevia powder

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl mix all of the dry ingredients together.

The dry ingredients.

Then stir in the olive oil.

With the olive oil. Dough is now ready to make into cookies.

Drop the dough by rounded tablespoons onto prepared cookie sheet and flatten.

Ready to go into the oven.

Bake for 12-15 min. or until golden brown.

^For the pecans I bought pecan chips and toasted them in a 350 degree oven for 15 min.

*If you choose to use almond meal (such as Bob’s Red Mill) instead of flour, here is some helpful hints.  Using almond meal doesn’t absorb as much moisture and thus makes the dough much more moist.  Since it is so moist, it won’t stick together.  So you will need to add about a 1/2 cup of additional almond meal and about a 1/4 cup of water.  I know it sounds weird to add water to a moist dough, but olive oil just doesn’t make dough stick together the way water does.  It will work, it just requires a little tweaking.

The final product. With my pumpkin since it's Halloween.

The cookies taste best warm out of the oven.  Honestly, what cookie doesn’t?  Otherwise, I would keep them at room temperature.  If you want a cookie that isn’t real sweet, then this is a good one.  It’s not the typical sugar laden Halloween treat, but still satisfied my craving for a sweet treat to enjoy the holiday.  They are a bit crumbly, but still tasty.  Not quite sure why, but these seem like the perfect holiday cookie to me.  I’ll definitely be making more come Thanksgiving.  They would also be nice for afternoon tea.

I hope you all have a safe and happy Halloween!

Responses

  1. I can’t promise that I’ll follow your recipe and make the cookies, BUT I am delighted by your adaptations and gumption to try a recipe until it comes out right for you! Keep up your adventures in cooking! I keep you in prayers of care and friendship!


Leave a Reply

Categories

