Posted by: karascrumbs | October 24, 2011

First Recipe!

It’s exciting that I am making my first recipe post.

I’ve been inspired by the wonderful fall weather we are currently having here in Roanoke.  I love fall and nothing says fall to me more than pumpkins.  I love pumpkins.  Well, actually, I love cooking with pumpkin.  I think it might just be my favorite ingredient.  I will cry if I ever have to give it up.  It goes with so many things: almond butter, dates, yogurt, soup, and I could go on and on.

This weekend I took advantage of some beautiful weather to go to a local farm.  I did a hayride, hay maze, and picked my own pumpkin from their patch.  I also walked through the petting zoo and saw a very cute little pig.  I wanted to take it home with me.  My time at the farm made me feel like a little kid again.  It has been many years since I did a hayride or picked a pumpkin from a patch.  I chose a very cute little pumpkin.  I knew I wasn’t going to carve it, so I left the good carving ones for other people.  So that inspired me to write this first post and include my first recipe.

I have several delicious recipes that I can, and eventually will, share with you.  But I’m just going to start with one.

I was really craving pumpkin and I wanted it in a cookie form.  So after searching the web and coming up with nothing that I could use or that I liked, I took a chance and created my own.  I personally think they turned out delicious.

So here it is:

Pumpkin Cookies

2 cups almond flour

1 cup pumpkin (I used canned)

2 egg whites or 6 Tablespoons liquid egg whites

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ginger

1/4 tsp. vanilla stevia powder

1/8 tsp. stevia powder*

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with a non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, mix all of the wet ingredients together.  Gradually add in all of the dry ingredients and stir well.

Drop batter onto prepared baking sheet.  A medium cookie scoop or ice cream scoop works well for this.  Otherwise, use a large spoonful.  Flatten cookies slightly before baking.

Bake the cookies for 15-17 min. or until done.  Let them cool on the cookie sheat before moving to a cooling rack.  Makes about 15 cookies.

Store cooled cookies in a plastic container.  I like mine refrigerated.  If left out of the refrigerator, they will get softer and a little more moist.  I know that sounds weird, but that is what happens with gluten free baked goods.  I suggest serving them straight out of the refrigerator or with a little warmed almond butter.  They also freeze well.

*you can adjust the amount of stevia to your liking.  A little bakes off as they cook, so I always make the batter a little sweeter than I would like.  Also, different types of stevia have different sweetnesses; so you might have to play around a bit.

Unfortunately I didn’t take pictures of me making them.  I’m new to blogging and forgot.  You’ll have to wait until I make them again.  But here is a picture of the finished product.

Fresh out of the oven, cooling on a rack. Can't wait to taste one!

I couldn’t wait until they were totally cooled to have one.  So I ate one and it was delicious warm out of the oven.  This is definitely a recipe I will be making again!

Responses

  1. Woohoo to the blog site! I’ll be one of your fans! Great looking cookies. Did you use canned pumpkin or cook your own? I love cooking raw pumpkin in the crock pot, then it’s easy to cut off the rind and puree the pumpkin! Take and post more pictures of all your goodies!

  2. Hi Kara,Great Job!!! I had lunch with your Mom yesterday and she was telling me about your new adventure. I don’t cook or bake much anymore,but I know there are a lot of people out there who will appreciate your effort to bring people with food allergies the help they need to nourish their bodies and to bring some sweet treats to their tables. Thirty years ago when I was diagnosed “Gluten free” there was little known about cooking with alternative flours and there were few places to get good recipes and there was no internet. With food allergies being such a problem for so many people these days, your site will be a wonderful place for them to go to get help and encouragement. Keep up the good work. PS I love pumpkin too. Light and Love Jo from the Rock Shop

  3. I’m looking forward in seeing more of your recipes on this site. Can’t wait. Yummy..
    Good Luck.


Leave a Reply

Categories

